Saturday, October 23, 2010

From Army Marksmanship Unit(AMU),Mhow to the Commonwealth Games 2010, New Delhi

Nine shooters from Army Marksmanship Unit (AMU) Mhow were part of the 36 member shooting squad at the recently concluded Commonwealth Games 2010 at New Delhi. These were: Seema Tomar, Vijay Kumar, Gurpreet Singh, AD Peoples, Imran Hasan Khan, C.K. Choudhary, Hariom Singh, Sushil Ghaley, Praveen Dahiya.

Above: Article by Firoz Mirza in HT Live, Indore (Oct 7 2010) a supplement of Hindustan Times.

4 of these nine shooters won 5 Gold, 2 Silver and a Bronze medal either individually or in pairs.

They are: (1) Vijay Kumar - 2 Gold and a silver. Gold in 25 m (Pairs), Gold in Centre fire Pistol (Pairs), Silver in 25m Centre Fire Pistol (Individual)

(2) Gurpreet Singh - 2 Gold and a Bronze. Gold in 25 m Pistol Rapid Fire (Pairs), Gold in 10 m Air Pistol (Pairs), Bronze in 25 m Pistol Rapid Fire (Individual).

(3) Imran Hasan Khan - Gold in 50 m Rifle 3-Position (Pairs).

(4) C K Choudhary - Silver in 25 m Standard Pistol (Pairs).

No comments: